OOPS!

Dear Reader,

This post finds me typing very stiffly indeed.

Last week ( foolish me, with a mind having made appointments my body should not have kept when moving boxes in our new dwelling) I injured my Sword and Pen arm via a pinched nerve in the neck, at C5 to be exact. OOOO ….tres painful. Right now, the only way I can lift my right arm is to pick it up with my left. (It's kinda funny to see. )

I have also found, to my surprise and gratification, that many of my friends and family members now have many medical degrees between them that I had heard no previous mention of until this pinched nerve.

Readers, you will, I hope understand if I am slow to blog this month as well as last (the month of our decampment from the old house to the next one. )

Even Christmas dinner 2013 might end up Italian takeout ..(hmmm, there could be benefits to this situation…)

Needless to say, no art done but I do have pics from the ecoprinting sessions I carried out in October at Mount Subasio, Umbria.

 

No more words, just a few pics. Gonna let you guess the plants and pigment sources.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The papers became pages for some of these books:

 

Season's blessings to all my readers.

 

 

Tags: ,

22 Responses to “OOPS!”

  1. Ginny Huber Says:

    Hi Wendy. So sorry about the pinched nerve. They are not pleasant. I do like looking at these Subasio prints. WOn’t guess but will enjoy..I, too have had a physical mishap which has left my left knee and entire calf looking like the colors in your prints..I may actually post the colors soon..contusions and abrasions 101..but inspiring colors!

  2. arlee Says:

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could make magical poultices from all the mashed and cooked leaves? Take it easy and get strong again.

    • wendyfe Says:

      Hope you are better, too, arlee! Thank you for the good wishes. I remember as a kid my father would apply hot kaolin poultices on our chests when we got a bead cough or chest infection. It was pure white clay you bought at the drugstore (“chemist”) He heated the can of clay in water then applied a dollop of it to flannelette to make a sandwich and then put that on the chest area. He also doctored us with other avaialble remedies like warm olive oil on cotton wool plugs for earache, oil of cloves for toothache, more hot kaolin poultices for septic fingers (to draw out the pus), permanganate of potash crystals ( a gorgeous wine colour) for a kind of topical disinfectant or antibiotic, lots of other plants and minerals in the medicine cabinet…Indeed maybe those plants of ours DO hold remedies…I bet the First Nations peoples used plants ot reduce the inflammation in pinched nerves..Does anyone know?

  3. debbie.weaver Says:

    Sounds painful but at least you can see the funny side. Not sure what all the leaves are but do I detect some iron and rust and perhaps rose leaves.

  4. Michelle Cossalter Says:

    Hope you recover quickly. Love your work. You are an inspiration. Merry Christmas!

  5. Faye Says:

    Roll with the benefits and allow the body time to heal.
    Take care over the silly season.

  6. Louisa Says:

    Ooh, poor Wendy! I know exactly how that feels. Excruciating! I even have a permanent numb area on my finger thanks to a pinched nerve in my neck more than 12 years ago. Take care and get better soon!

  7. Lisa Ann Camp Says:

    So inspired by your works!! So sorry for the injury! Suffered same injury moving four years ago. Same symptoms…chiropractic was my decision, and am completely healed today. Take care and walk when you can. Short stints of ice, and walking ten minutes each was the treatment. Take it slow and your body will respond to your care. Your paper is beautiful!!! Now take time for your body! We want to see more photos in the future. Thank you. merry Christmas!!

  8. velma bolyard Says:

    wendy, this is rotten news for you. i hope each day brings more strength and healing.

    • wendyfe Says:

      Sweet of you, Velma! I am looking forward to more websurfing than usual…can being grounded thus be ALL bad? See you on Wake Robin! And you must make it up here in person one day!

      Wendy

  9. Joy Nelson Says:

    I hope that you are soon feeling much so you can enjoy Christmas whether it be turkey or Italian! May 2014 be happy and healthy for you.

  10. Joy Nelson Says:

    Much better. Sorry.

  11. mltai Says:

    so sorry to hear about your injury. Hope you have a speedy recovery. Your paper prints are inspiring and kind of you to share. Happy New Year.

  12. wendyfe Says:

    Thank you, Mizz! Your blog is great, too. Must try that green tomato marmalade!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers