My Art Embroidery as Banner in the new Quilting Arts E-mag

The little orange flowers with purple buds are free machine embroidered  on a background of melted wax crayons. The panel (8 x 10) is entitled “July” for it bursts with the hot colours of my abundant and floriferous garden in that month. “Quilting Arts In Stitches” e- magazine is using the “July” stitchery as part of their cover image for their new e-mag. A lovely article about my work appears there along with articles about nine fantastic fibre artists in whose company I am honoured to be.   Thank you Quilting Arts! Check it out here http://www.quiltingarts.com/blogs/quiltingarts/archive/2010/06/30/qa-in-stitches.aspx

Here is the full artwork

About wendyfe

I am a fibre artist working in mixed media textiles with a focus on vintage cloth reworked with stitching, natural dyeing, eco printing and rust printing . My work can be seen at www.wendyfeldberg.ca.
This entry was posted in In Stitches E-Mag by Quilting Arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Art Embroidery as Banner in the new Quilting Arts E-mag

  1. Hi Wendy,
    I was so excited to discover your art work in the new QArts emag. My friends and I crayoned some underpainted fabrics today using your instructions. I am attempting to do freemotion quilting on my sample this evening. I love colour and texture but have not used my machine in just this way. I am a dedicated hand embroiderer that loves making marks with my stitch. What a discovery! I studied your website and I am totally enthralled with your art. Thank you for such an inspiring article. I love that I can zoom in and really see the textile. I hope to see your work in a show some day. If you are curoius about me, please check my blog and you can see the kind of art work that I make.
    Sincerely, Donna

  2. wendyfe says:

    Donna,
    So exciting that you and your companions-in-art are trying out new things that inspire! I read that Albert Einstein said ” Play is the highest form of research” . I learned new things about printing colour in my studio last night while just playing around with paint printed on fabric with leaves (..will post about it at some point… maybe it is not new to others but it was sure new to me!). I think curiosity – the “What if I did this …or Let me see if that… etc. ” opens us to inspiration. Curiosity and inspiration are surely the two lungs an artist breathes with! But “working on the work” – ie. Just Doing It – is the heart of it all

    – wendy

Leave a Reply

