Stitching Eco Printed Textiles: Studio Notes 1

I have been preparing some of my silk and silk- blend textiles as shawls and scarves for my shows this December. But  my carpal tunnel and arthritis is acting up, thus sewing by hand will be torture for a while until it flares down again… Some of my solutions meantime:

1. Dharma Trading pre-rolled hem on silk-wool blend…but I wondered (too late, I admit )about the age of the stitchers and the thought made me uneasy…

2.  Hmm. So I rolled my own on another silk-wool blend, cut yardage this time:

3. When the handwork gave much stress on my wrist, I elected to use (for the first time) the blind hemmer attachment that came with my sewing machine …But said an incantation, lit a candle and did a dance around the studio first:

4. The above ritual worked about 70% of the time but not well at the corners – though often  better if I slipped some watersoluble paper under the foot when I started stitching…The hardest textile to sew was the 8mm or 10,, silk habotai.

5. So next I tried  running stitch by hand, CTS be damned (using variegated rayon thread):

6. Then I gave the wrist a rest again, skipped the blind hemmer for a turned hem and tried simple straight stitching along raw edges instead for an “edgy” look:

7. I did two rows of stitching in variegated rayon thread to suggest embroidery; then for another type of finish, some zig-zagging along raw edges:

8. Finally, some creative repair when I snipped the eco bundle strings with scissors instead of unwinding them by hand (no patience that day…) and cut into the silk:

 

 

9. Solvy and free motion embroidery to the rescue:

I will repeat the machine stitching over the surface  -might have to forego the hand embroidery for a while!

Next post: Last eco prints of 2011!

Christmas blessings to all.

 

 

About wendyfe

I am a fibre artist working in mixed media textiles with a focus on vintage cloth reworked with stitching, natural dyeing, eco printing and rust printing . My work can be seen at www.wendyfeldberg.ca.
This entry was posted in Natural Dyeing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stitching Eco Printed Textiles: Studio Notes 1

  1. connie rose says:

    Believe it or not, I’ve been known to rip the rolled hem OFF silk scarves, because I don’t like the way the scarves fall with the stitched edges on them. If the edges are off all four sides, the fabric doesn’t unravel. I’m not selling them like this, but I prefer to wear them like this. Handstitched rolled hems are also wonky sometimes, as you probably know. Another reason to ditch the hem.

    • wendyfe says:

      Thanks so much for that “forget the hemstitching” suggestion, Connie Rose! I, too, like the look of a “rough-edgey” finish. I admit I have ripped the hems off, too – e.g., one of my shawls lost hems so many times (due to my own unsatisfactory sewing)that the shawl is now a scarf…maybe a loin cloth…

Leave a Reply

