Forest Floor

Getting ready for my show “Forest Floor”, July 29 – August 28, 2012 at the Shenkman Arts Centre, in the Trinity Gallery, City of Ottawa. I will be displaying eco printed art cloth and paper.

First up is a collection of ten eco prints on watercolour paper, variously sized: 8″x 10″, 9″x 12″, 11″ x 14″ and some irregular. The leaves were collected and printed in fall 2011. The colours remain vibrant, and some have even developed further depth. One of my research questions last year concerned print longevity. I am satisfied with these results and feel comfortable offering then to the public.

1. Cotinus coggygria, chokecherry, Japanese Maple, ginkgo

 

2. Blackberry, marigold (tagetes), catalpa pod

 

3. Alder, Japanese Maple, ginkgo, blackberry

4. Cotinus c., Japanese Maple, ginkgo, alder

 

5. Sweet Gum, Japanese Maple, ginkgo, cotinus c.,

 

7. Sweet Gum, Japanese Maple, cotinus coggygria

 

 

8.Sweet Gum, Japanese Maple, cotinus coggygria

 

9.Sweet Gum, Japanese Maple, cotinus coggygria, alder.

 

10.Sweet Gum, Japanese Maple, cotinus coggygria, alder.

 

Also in July, two of my embroidered art pieces purchased by the City of Ottawa will be on display at city hall in the City of Ottawa Gallery, Permanent Collection. Pics next post!

Thanks for following

 

WEndy

 

About wendyfe

I am a fibre artist working in mixed media textiles with a focus on vintage cloth reworked with stitching, natural dyeing, eco printing and rust printing . My work can be seen at www.wendyfeldberg.ca.
This entry was posted in Art Cloth, Eco Prints and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Forest Floor

  1. arlee says:

    Awesome Wendy! Such clarity on paper, wish cloth was the same more often πŸ™‚
    And great news on the acquisitions by Ottawa!

    • wendyfe says:

      Thanks, arlee. Variable results is the name of the game most of the time so responding to the marks ( as you are reporting in your Jason Pollen posts) I find to be really creative work and hence satisfying…but not always satisfactory in outcome.

  2. dyefeltsool says:

    Gorgeous prints. I love that sweet gum, wish I could find some around here.

    • wendyfe says:

      Hi Beth,

      Thanks for your comments. Re Sweet Gum: Do not despair! I did not realize that Sweet Gum could be grown in my USDA gardening zone 4 or 5 (Ottawa is round about 4 plus these days). I found a specimen in the local arboretum – have nevervpaid attention to it before because it looks maple-like.But the fall colours are amazing, all on one tree. SO I would say, do some checking in your locality. A website like Plants For a Future shows the world wided naturak distribution of plants in its data base. Try there too. When I visited the southern US this winter, I found Sweet Gum all the way from Atlanta to Savannah and Charleston. Readers have reported Sweet Gum in Virginia and California.

      • Louisa says:

        We have quite a lot of sweet gum here in Vancouver, BC planted relatively recently as street trees. They are gorgeous in fall colour. We’re approx Cdn zone 8 here though so we can grow lots of things that don’t do so well in the rest of the country. πŸ˜‰

        Your prints are glorious, Wendy!

  3. Jennifer Cooper says:

    Wowzers! Good for you to apply and get the show to display such gorgeous pieces. They certainly deserve to be seen and enjoyed.

    Chimo,
    Jennifer

  4. joanne says:

    I love the results – and to see that they remain vibrant and clear after so many months! Congratulations on the purchase too. πŸ™‚

    • wendyfe says:

      Thank you, Joanne. I wish you well in your art this season – I know you are recovering, or trying to, from that sad event in your community.

  5. dyefeltsool says:

    Dear Friend
    I just received the Versatile Blogger Award, and one of the cool things about it is that your task upon accepting it is to pass it on to other wonderful blogs!
    So you are the recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award – see your nomination here
    http://dyefeltsool.com/2012/07/07/versatile-blogger-award/
    Thanks for the amazing inspiration!

    Beth

    • wendyfe says:

      Thank you, Beth!
      That is very lovely of you.
      I will send around the Award and let you know the results. When I received one other such reward, some of the folks I sent it too turned it down or politely thanked me – that is all. Hmmm. As for me, I am grateful for the encouragement such recognition sffords me. What to our readers think?

      Wendy

      • dyefeltsool says:

        I suppose some people don’t like the work involved but I thought it was a cool concept to let other people know how much you appreciate their work. Thanks for continuing to share your work.

      • wendyfe says:

        Hi Beth,

        I appreciate every bit of applause I get from likevminded fibre nuts. I have learned so much from their blogs and websites- and expect to continue to enjoy. So thank you for yours- csn you hearvme clapping?

        Wendy

Leave a Reply

