Blog Invaders, Dostoyevsky, Dye Plants, and A State of Transparency

 

Sorry about this first part dear readers. Dessert – two helpings! – is coming down the page, though…

Just FYI, this morning I updated my blog’s dye plant page using my computer not my iPad because that is where my dye plant files reside.

Without my permission and without my yet knowing how to prevent or correct the invasion, my post was attacked by advertising links. Selective words on my post and elsewhere on the blog were hotlinked out to iffy sites that use words like “love”, “companion” and “passionate” — you get it!!! These are all words appearing on my site but of course the links are to other contexts. SO…gotta find out how to nip that nasty worm in the bud but meantime please excuse any sleezy ads linked to my blog if you see them…Alas, that we would be in danger of much nuisance now from innocent word usage…

Not yet sure if the same thing happens when I update my blog from the iPad with BLOGSY…which, BTW, is far less clunky to use than WP for editing and posting…Yet therein might lie the problem for one needs to keep updating EVERYTHING online and I have not done so with WP since the winter…so might have missed some bug fixes…or it could be simply that the relentless voracious internet engines /sites find ever new ways to compromise or pirate your work. I say “pirate” because these things steal my words and my contexts -and yours, if you write comments. Cuckoos in my blog nest!

Sigh.

So here are some photos and a video to distract – first, of beautiful dye plants and other garden lovelies to soothe you as a reward for your loyalty and patience in having read this far; then, of a serene and contemplative cityscape in pure white cotton organdy, a perfect foil for the richly layered colours of “Forest Floor”

As Dostoyevsky says: Beauty saves the world.

(But thinking there is not much hope that Dostoyevsky will get hotlinked from this page…)

“Flanders Field” poppies (papaver rhoeas) and wild white yarrow (achillea). Kind of purple prints from the poppy and greens from the yarrow, depending on the mordants, assistants and processes.

Next: Coreopsis (Tickseed), double and single, for yellows and oranges)

The striped poles in the background are part of a garden scuplture by my husband, recalling the use of brightly coloured striped poles in medieval herb gardens. The dye plants are grown with other useful plants, like the Golden Oregano ( O. Aureum) in the middle ground.I adore that shot of chartreuse green! In the foreground is a young Red Amaranth.

(I wrote the word “el oh vee ee” but then swapped it out in favour of “adore” – still true but maybe a lesser prey…)

Below: White feverfew (matricaria) and Golden Marguerite (anthemis tinctoria). The coreopsis is in the background.

And now some garden scenes

A river of white feverfew with sumac on the right:

An iconic poppy seed head from the giant (and likely still illegal in Canada) papaver somniferum:

Hungry heron visitor framed by sumac (rhus typhina)
… and the a last still pic is from my granddaughter because it is adorable and beautiful like her:
As a wedding gift for her aunt and new uncle, she painted the Bride and Groom and herself at the wedding under the chuppah. Note that the Bride is taller than the Groom and that both Bride and Bridesmaid wear purple. And there are two bouquets of red roses.
And one last beautiful textile word from my dear friend and colleague, Karen Goetzinger
A State of Transparency

http://www.karengoetzinger.com
http://www.facebook.com/ArtistKarenGoetzinger

About wendyfe

I am a fibre artist working in mixed media textiles with a focus on vintage cloth reworked with stitching, natural dyeing, eco printing and rust printing . My work can be seen at www.wendyfeldberg.ca.
This entry was posted in Art Cloth, dye plants, Eco Prints and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

