Printing With Oshiwa Handcarved Blocks

Rachel Biel over at http://www.rayela.com promotes and sells wood printing blocks handcarved by artisans from Namibia. My friend Paula Benjaminson used to hold “block parties” here in Ottawa (before she went off to Gabon in the U.S. diplomatic service) and that is how I came to know and use them. Paula will be back to Canada (London, Ontario) to give a class for the Canadian Embroiders’ Guild this year when their conference theme is “Out of Africa”

Today I am sharing with you some more of the work I have done with these blocks.Previous posts have shown paste papers I made for my artist books, In my “Garden Cloth” series (see http://www.wendyfeldberg,com) of printed and stitched works, I used the blocks to introduce contrasting elements on a surface layered with leaf prints: geometric forms as complements to organic forms.

I used leaves from my garden and indoor plants to make contact prints (not dye prints!) with acrylic paint onto a cotton surface. The geometric designs I chose from among my blocks provided elements of contrast in scale, form and colour that aimed to ground a busy surface built up with layers of colour, form and stitch. Some examples follow. Can you identify the leaves? You can see the whole canvases on my website ( much in need of updating, BTW)

image

 

image

20130113-093132.jpg

20130113-093256.jpg

20130113-185636.jpg

When you buy Oshiwa blocks, you are investing in first your own art, and secondly, a co – op group of African artisans offering a great product and worthy of your support as they develop their business.

Check them out at www. oshiwa.com and buy them on etsy at http://www.rayela.com.

More of my Oshiwas coming!

If you have links to your own use of Oshiwas, send them to Rachel!

Cheers

Wendy

About wendyfe

I am a fibre artist working in mixed media textiles with a focus on vintage cloth reworked with stitching, natural dyeing, eco printing and rust printing . My work can be seen at www.wendyfeldberg.ca.
This entry was posted in textile art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Printing With Oshiwa Handcarved Blocks

  1. arlee says:

    such intricate layering!!!!!!!

  2. wendyfe says:

    More is more-er, arlee! Why go under cover when “over-the-top” is an option?

    Wendy

  3. Ginny Huber says:

    Agree with the over the top option; these look quite lovely; oshiwa blocks look interesting; your web site link, though doesn’t link..

  4. rayela says:

    I love what you are doing with them, Wendy! People ask me about the consistency of the paint or dye and looking at yours, it looks like you water it down, right? So, do you press the block into paint or do you use a brayer to roll paint on to the block?

    Here is the link to Oshiwa’s shop on Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/oshiwa

    • wendyfe says:

      Hi Rachel,

      Feel free to copy and share anything on my posts or here about Oshiwa blocks.

      To respond to your questions re how to apply acrylic paint:

      I did water it so it would not leave little peaks when the block was lifted. About half and half , I would say.

      I painted the blocks with a brush and pressed them onto the surface, using a padded board underneath. (Jane Dunnewold goves instructions for how to make a padded printing board in her book on art cloth, see my refs on this blog) I made sure not to get paint in the grooves of the blocks.

      Wendy

  5. garnet smalley says:

    The London International Quilt Festival is the one hosting the “Out of Africa” with close to 200 quilts on display all from Africa. I do hope you are able to attend. http://www.londoninternationalquiltfestival.com

    • wendyfe says:

      Thank you, Garnet! i may indeed be able to attend. Please accept my apologies for having mistaken the hosting body for the show. I will publish a correction on my blog and insert your link- thank you for sending it. It sounds as if will be an exciting and memorable show.

      Wendy

Leave a Reply

